About Us  |   Contact

NJPW announces dome show, tentpole events for first half of 2022

NJPW has announced another dome show, along with the rest of their tentpole events for the first half of 2022. 

For the first time in 21 years, Wrestling Dontaku will be held in the former Fukuoka Dome, now the PayPay Dome, on Sunday, May 1. NJPW made the announcement today during night two of Wrestle Kingdom 16. 

The company also announced a Sumo Hall date in Ryogoku on Saturday, April 9, and another major show for Osaka Castle Hall on Sunday, June 12. Names for those events have yet to be announced. 

The PayPay Dome Show, Sumo Hall show, and Osaka Castle Hall events join four dates on the New Years Golden Series, the 50th anniversary show, and the New Japan Cup finals as the major events for the company in the first half of 2022. 

Below is the announced schedule, with major shows in bold.

NJPW 2022 Schedule --

  • Thursday, January 20: New Years Golden Series (Korakuen Hall)
  • Friday, January 21: New Years Golden Series (Korakuen Hall)
  • Saturday, January 22: New Years Golden Series (Gunma)
  • Sunday, January 23: New Years Golden Series (Tochigi)
  • Tuesday, January 25: New Years Golden Series (Fukushima)
  • Friday, January 28: New Years Golden Series (Aichi)
  • Saturday, January 29: New Years Golden Series (Korakuen Hall)
  • Sunday, January 30: New Years Golden Series (Ibaraki)
  • Sunday, February 6: New Years Golden Series (Chiba)
  • Monday, February 7: New Years Golden Series (Korakuen Hall)
  • Wednesday, February 9: New Years Golden Series (Saitama)
  • Thursday, February 10: New Years Golden Series (Yamagata)
  • Friday, February 11: New Years Golden Series (Xebio Arena Sendai)
  • Sunday, February 13: New Years Golden Series (EDION Arena Osaka)
  • Tuesday, February 15: New Years Golden Series (Korakuen Hall)
  • Wednesday, February 16: New Years Golden Series (Korakuen Hall)
  • Thursday, February 17: New Years Golden Series (Korakuen Hall)
  • Saturday, February 19: New Years Golden Series (Hokkaido Prefectural Sports Center)
  • Sunday, February 20: New Years Golden Series (Hokkaido Prefectural Sports Center)
  • Tuesday, March 1: 50th anniversary show (Nippon Budokan) 
  • Wednesday, March 2: New Japan Cup (Nippon Budokan)
  • Sunday, March 6: New Japan Cup (Fukushima)
  • Wednesday, March 9: New Japan Cup (Korakuen Hall)
  • Thursday, March 10: New Japan Cup (Yamanshi)
  • Saturday, March 12: New Japan Cup (Aichi)
  • Sunday, March 13: New Japan Cup (Hyogo)
  • Monday, March 14: New Japan Cup (Kagawa)
  • Tuesday, March 15: New Japan Cup (Okayama)
  • Thursday, March 17: New Japan Cup (Shizuoka)
  • Friday, March 18: New Japan Cup (Korakuen Hall)
  • Sunday, March 20: New Japan Cup (Niigata)
  • Monday, March 21: New Japan Cup (Niigata)
  • Saturday, March 26: New Japan Cup (Osaka Castle Hall) 
  • Sunday, March 27: New Japan Cup finals (Osaka Castle Hall)
  • Saturday, April 9: Untitled event (Sumo Hall)
  • Sunday, May 1: Wrestling Dontaku (PayPay Dome)
  • Sunday, June 12: Untitled event (Osaka Castle Hall)